Home > About us > Governance Structure of Department
About Us
Home > About us > Governance Structure of Department

Governance Structure of Department

There are a number of committees that function actively to promote the Undergraduate, Postgraduate and Research endeavours of the Department. The number of successful grant applications and research publications continue to grow in this dynamic environment.

DHRS consist of a total of approximately 93 permanent and contract staff members plus approximately 70 ad-hoc academics staff members who is lead by the following Executive team:

Position Name
Head of Department A/Prof Lebogang Ramma
Chair of Postgraduate Education

A/Prof Helen Buchanan (on sabbatical)

Dr Michal Harty (Acting Chair)

Chair of Research Dr Gillian Ferguson
Head of Division - (Nursing & Midwifery) Dr Nicki Fouché  
Head of Division - (Communication Sciences & Disorders) A/Prof Michelle Pascoe
Head of Division - (Physiotherapy) Dr NIrmila Naidoo
Head of Division - (Occupational Therapy) Dr Amshuda Sonday
Head of Division - (Disability Studies) A/Prof Judith McKenzie
Administration Manager Mrs Debra Hendricks (previously Adams)