About us

Students at the Berg River MarathonPhysiotherapy is an applied discipline dedicated to the study of human movement and function and its relevance to health an d well-being.

The Division of Physiotherapy strives to be a world-class, African Division of Physiotherapy and is committed to the primary health care approach of educating physiotherapists who will be well prepared to meet the health, rehabilitation and research needs of our country.

The programme is designed to equip students both academically and professionally with the skills and clinical expertise required to practise competently and confidently within a variety of health care settings, including hospitals, clinics, community health centres, special schools, homes and other community-based facilities. Accordingly, students will be required to carry out clinical practice in urban and peri-urban areas as well as informal settlements.

The Division believes that registration for this programme is not only about getting a degree but it is about personal and professional growth. The Division of Physiotherapy, through it's very active Physiotherapy Student's Council, gives students the opportunity to provide services at different sporting events, such as the Berg Canoe Marathon and the Argus Cycle Race. It is possible to join SHAWCO, the student welfare organisation and be part of a multi-disciplinary team that provides care to residents of under-resourced areas.

Both Undergraduate and Post-graduate programmes are offered and the Division currently enrols approximately 60 new undergraduate and 20 post-graduate students per year.

Staff and Organisation of the Division

Academic Team

Dr Soraya Maart (Head of Division: Physiotherapy)

Professor Seyi Ladele Amosun (Deputy Head: Undergraduate Education Shared Learning)

Dr Theresa Burgess

Professor Jennifer Jelsma

Associate professors 

Dr Romy Parker

Senior lecturers

Dr Gillian Ferguson

Dr Niri Naidoo


Ms Shamila Manie; Ms Candice Hendricks

Clinical Educators

Ms Naila Edries; Ms Fahmida Harris; Mr Marc Naidoo; Ms Letitia Rustin; Ms Des Scott; Ms Heather Talberg

Administrative team

Ms Bonnie Croeser (Secretary); Mrs Margo Rathan (Undergraduate Administrator)


Division of Physiotherapy
Department of Health and Rehabilitation Sciences
F45 Old Main Building
Groote Schuur Hospital
Anzio Road

Tel: +27 21 406 6401
Fax: +27 21 406 6323